electoral roll 

communityThe Electoral Rolls for St Matthew’s Harwell and All Saints’ Chilton are being revised in the period 15th March to 28th March inclusive. The Electoral Roll is your Parish Church’s Register of Electors, the list of those qualified to vote at the Church Annual General Meeting at which the Parochial Church Council and Deanery Synod representatives are elected. You need to be on the Electoral Roll for at least 6 months to be a PCC member. If you are already on the Electoral Roll you do not need to re-register.
For St Matthew’s Harwell forms (form E2) may be obtained from the table at the back of church and completed forms should be placed in the wall box near the main door.
For All Saints’ Chilton forms may be obtained from All Saints’ Church (blank forms in the red envelope at the base of the font) and completed forms should be returned to Carol Piggott or placed in the yellow envelope at the base of the font.
For both churches forms should be returned no later than Saturday 28th March.

Why be on the church Electoral Roll?

Being on the Electoral Roll gives you the opportunity to have your say. It is a key part of the church’s system of democracy . It gives you a vote at the church Annual Meeting. It also means that you can be elected to the church council (the “PCC”) or nominate others to be elected to it.
The PCC is the key decision-making body of our churches. By law, we need a healthy number of elected ordinary PCC members to balance out the benefice-licenced clergy-people who are automatically on it! As the saying goes: if not you, then who?
The Electoral Roll also gives a crude indication of church membership. The more members we have, the more say we get at the regional decision-making bodies called the Deanery & Diocesan Synods.
If you are a committed member of our congregations, please consider adding your name to the Electoral Roll. Those aged 16-17 are eligible as well as adults.
Come along to our Annual Meetings at All Saints’ Chilton on 19th April 10am, and at St Matthew’s Harwell on 26th April at 11.30am.